Roland Sands and Art

by

Admittedly I’ve got a moto-fetish and the Cycle World International Motorcycle Show stop in Long Beach always leaves me satisfied. Well, I’ve also got a thing for art and design —  namely outsider art/low-brow art, whatever you wanna call it. You know it when you see it. —  and this year’s IMS brought the two together in a pretty remarkable way.
Smack in the middle of the show was a display called Architects of Inspiration. It was a collaboration between Roland Sands Design, Toyota Trucks and progressive arts juggernaut, Upper Playground. Now I’m not quite sure what the press materials tell me it was, but my interpretation is this. A number of great artists were called upon to create art using RSD’s bikes and Toyota’s trucks as inspiration.

What they came up with was pretty cool. I particularly dug the work from tattoo artist Mister Cartoon and the Sam Flores piece. I took a coupla (semi-OK) pictures. Scroll down to check them out.

You gotta love Roland Sands. I think the dude is just brilliant. Lest the ass-waxing fest end here I’ll add that I can’t think of a more progressive, out-there designer in the powersports industry. There’s some pure geniuses, but he’s in a whole different league.

Here’s the entire stable of artists involved:

* Sam Flores
* N8 Van Dyke
* Saber One
* Estevan Oriol
* Mr. Cartoon
* Jeff Decker (bronze sculptor)
* Roland Sands and the Smokin? Seagulls crew (friends of RSD)
* Jona Cerwinske
* Karl Dreshen
* Tom Clark (pinstriping)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Roland Sands and Art”

  1. More on RSD and AOI « Dealernews Blog Says:

    […] Not to belabor the subject, but there were a few cool bits I forgot to mention in my original post here about the Roland Sands/Toyota Trucks/Upper Playground collaboration, Architects of […]

Leave a Reply

