Naked Vision (and one clothed)

by

Here’s some more stuff from out at the Cycle World International Motorcycle Show this weekend. I thought this was really interesting. I’ve seen a Victory Vision sans bodywork before but really dug seeing it again. Just being able to see the chassis, gas tanks, etc. go a long way toward explaining the final finish of the bike. I can’t count how many times people have commented on the radical design of the Vision while asking “Why?”

A Nake Vision

A Naked Vision

And one fully clothed

And one fully clothed

This usually precedes a discussion that goes one of two ways: That’s the ugliest bike I’ve ever seen on God’s green earth or Man, if/when I get a touring bike that’s the one I’m gonna get. Victory knew this when it designed the bike, in fact the company’s head honcho Mark Blackwell told me Victory set out to polarize the public with the Vision. Read it here. It knew it had to shake things up.

I was once riding one of these (the blue one) down to San Diego. I stopped at a rest stop and decided to take some pics. While shooting a guy came over, started chatting and then after confirming that I wasn’t the owner or a Victory employee decided to tell me how horrible, ugly and freakish he thought the Visions were. The whole time I was thinking, really, I actually like them.

Oh well, there’s a style for every taste.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

