More on RSD and AOI

by

Not to belabor the subject, but there were a few cool bits I forgot to mention in my original post here about the Roland Sands/Toyota Trucks/Upper Playground collaboration, Architects of Inspiration.

aoi-header

Sure I talked about the RSD-influenced works of art by Sam Flores and Mr. Cartoon, but I didn’t mention The NOTHING machine by artist Rodney Aguiar. I love creative, Rube Goldberg sh*t like this. Take a close look. It’s a motor-drive collection of gears, sprockets, chains and crankshaft that repeatedly types out the word “nothing” on a mutilated electric typer. I want to make something like that brushes my teeth for me.

photo from RSD blog

photo from RSD blog

There was also the collaborative piece between RSD and Smokin’ Seagulls in which they transformed three dirt bikes into some kickass cafe racers. I’ve got an old YZ250 that I’ve wanted to do this to for a long while.

Seeking a bit more information about the project so I tossed a couple of questions at Sands who came back at me with the following:

How were the artists selected?

I worked with Matt Riveli at Upper playground to select artists that matched what we wanted to accomplish. We really wanted to create an environment. I was already fans of guys like Sam Flores and N8 VanDyke so those guys were some of my top picks and they jumped on board to do it so it was great. The Smoking Seagulls guys were friends and we were amped to work together on the café racer piece. Bell helmets brought Jona on board and he was a huge talent. I brought my friend and a great talent Karl Drehsen from Long Beach and Tom Clark is a pinstripping genius I work with all the time. A classic master.

Who came up with the concept?

It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. I’ve always enjoyed painting and creating and this was the next obvious step. Take all the things I love to do and put them together. If there was a guy doing a back flip over the whole thing we might of combined it all … next time.

Check out the RSD blog for more on AOI (and other stuff RSD is up to).

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “More on RSD and AOI”

  1. Good Stuff at Roland Sands Design « Dealernews Blog Says:

    […] By Dennis Johnson I’m pretty much a sucker for most everything that come out of Roland Sands Design. The RSD aesthetic nails me on somewhat of a cellular level much like that from any great designer […]

Leave a Reply

