Victory Lays Down the Hammer … S

by

I picked up a 2009 Victory Hammer S from Polaris HQ today, June 15. I’ve noticed this particular bike is about Victory performance, and that my sportbike has tire envy.

2009 Victory Hammer S

2009 Victory Hammer S

After rolling 200 miles during the first few hours after pick-up, I do have a few qualms about riding position (see future posts). Of course, I’m traditionally more of a sportbike rider, so anything I ride foot-first seems a bit odd.

Still, this is the best of the four Victory I’ve ridden for an extended period of time. It accelerates impressively (for97hp, 20hp less than my sportbike) and I can maneuver no problem with the big 18-incher up front and 250/40R18 Dunlop rear.

My SV1S has rear tire envy.

My SV1S has rear tire envy.

My first Victory extended ride, the TC, was a bit of a dog; the first year Vegas was better, but still not tuned quite right (needed more breathing, found through the parts catalog); and the Vision I rode for a few months last summer was hugely impressive in handling and performance for its size.

One common theme I immediately found between the Vision and Hammer: Both attract a fair bit of attention at stoplights and while fuel filling. Another impression: the H-D, Kawi and Yamaha (Star) riders couldn’t quite keep up when I was coaxed at the stoplight northbound on 169 in Jordan, MN.

2009 VICTORY HAMMER S
Engine: 1731cc air/oil-cooled EFI SOHC V-twin delivering 97hp
Bore x Stroke: 101x108mm
Compression Ratio: 9.4:1
Clutch: Wet, multi-plate
Primary Drive: Gear drive w/ torque compensator
Final Drive: Carbon fiber belt
Front Brake: Dual 300mm floating rotor with 4-piston caliper
Rear Brake: 300mm floating rotor with 2-piston caliper
Front Suspension: 43mm inverted cartridge telescopic fork
Rear Suspension: Single mono-tube gas, cast aluminum with rising rate linkage (preload adjustable)
Front Wheel: 18×3.5 w/ 130/70R18 Dunlop Elite 3
Rear Wheel: 18×8.5 w/250/40R18 Dunlop Elite 3
Wheelbase: 65.7 inches
Dry Weight: 669 lbs.
Color: Boardwalk Blue w/ white stripes

MSRP: Starting at $18,499

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Victory Lays Down the Hammer … S”

  1. Rider Impressions: The Victory Hammer S « Dealernews Blog Says:

    […] Impressions: The Victory Hammer S By Guido In June I picked up a 2009 Victory Hammer S from Polaris headquarters in Medina, Minn. Now, after one month and nearly 1,000 miles, it’s time […]

Leave a Reply

